Vegan Resource Review: The 30 Day Vegan Challenge

Hi All! Today I wanted to let everyone know about an AMAZING new vegan resource out there for everyone! It’s called The 30 Day Vegan Challenge, by vegan activist and educator, Colleen Patrick-Goudreau. You may have already heard of Colleen, perhaps from her interesting, intelligent and inspirational podcast, Vegetarian Food for Thought. Or perhaps from any of her many cookbooks, The Joy of Vegan Baking, The Vegan Table, Color Me Vegan, Vegan’s Daily Companion etc. OR perhaps you have already read her book The 30 Day Vegan Challenge!

I am here to convey two things to you today!

1. How amazing The 30 Day Vegan Challenge is.

2. Bring you exciting news about the BRAND NEW online version of The 30 Day Vegan Challenge!!

So you probably already know my story of how I became vegan… (if you haven’t and you’re interested, see my first blog post!) I set a date, July 1, 2011 that I would become vegan and in the interim, I devoured every piece of literature I could find about becoming a vegan. An incomplete list of lit I read includes:

Vegan Freak: Being Vegan in a Non-Vegan World by: Bob & Jenna Torres

Skinny Bitch by: Rory Freedman & Kim Barnouin

Animal Ingredients A to Z, Third Edition by: The EG Smith Collective

The China Study by: T. Coling Campbell PhD & Thomas M. Campbell II

The PETA Practical Guide to Animal Rights by: Ingrid Newkirk

The Vegan Girl’s Guide to Life by: Melisser Elliott

Becoming Vegan by: Brenda Davis, RD & Vesanto Melina MS RD

and of course…. The 30 Day Vegan Challenge by: Colleen Patrick-Goudreau

Someday I’ll do complete reviews on each of these informative and amazing books. I’m a big reader. However, even being the page-loving-literature-snuggling-bookworm that I am, I DO understand that not everyone likes to read.

Some people even hate it.

Which could make a lifestyle change like becoming vegan inordinately difficult for someone to attempt with no information or help. So this is where I try to help you if you are, or know, someone such as this.

First: Out of ALL the books I read on becoming a vegan, The 30 Day Vegan Challenge by: Colleen Patrick-Goudreau was the most helpful.

Hands down.

Now, I want to be clear. I enjoyed every book I read. Each one brough a fresh perspective and new information. Each one had a unique tone and approach to veganism. They were ALL important pieces in my transition to veganism and I don’t intend to short-change any of these talented authors. Each of their works was powerful and transformative, every one of them had a hand in creating one more vegan in the world and I thank them all for that.

However, for me, if I were to recommend only one single book to anyone considering veganism, it would be The 30 Day Vegan Challenge.

It is absolutely jam-packed with practical information on vegan food, lifestyle, and transition. Because it is organized around a 30 day timeline, Colleen gives step by step instruction and useful guidance to veganism, yet gives the reader the space and autonomy to ultimately make their own decisions whether they will stay vegan after the 30 days or not. She is never preachy, never guilt-trips, avoids gratuitous descriptions or discussion of animal cruelty, and is always as compassionate to her reader as she is to her subject matter. The book is an easy and enjoyable read, and again, because of the 30 day format, you don’t have to read it all first! You can read each day at your own pace, skip around, look at the glossary, pick out recipes etc.

Best of all, the value of her book The 30 Day Vegan Challenge, extends well beyond a single read. It’s the perfect gift for established vegans, vegetarians, the vegan-curious, the health conscious, and potential-vegans alike! I’ve given it as a gift three times now and EVERY SINGLE PERSON I’VE GIVEN THE BOOK TO IS NOW VEGAN. I’m not kidding. Those are some results.

So there it is, if you are looking for a great book for yourself or for a gift, The 30 Day Vegan Challenge is it.

This brings me to exciting part 2 of this post! For those of us who just HATE or do not have any time or patience for reading, The 30 Day Vegan Challenge is now a complete ONLINE PROGRAM!!!! No (very little) reading required!!! Soooooo exciting. The brand new 30 Day Vegan Challenge online program is a complete and comprehensive online multimedia version of the book! Every day, you recieve an email in your inbox with a short letter on the day’s subject matter, a daily video, audio podcast (or two), recipes and more. It’s quick, easy, so much fun and so informative!

I just completed the 30 Day Challenge Online myself (even though I’m already vegan :)) just a few days ago. The program is so cool. I think it is absolutely revolutionary and I feel like it’s going to reach potential vegans like nothing ever before. I can’t recommend it highly enough.

Check out the video link below for a short synopsis of the program!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TW77DLOcDZM&feature=player_embedded

Bonus: A very dear friend of mine was instrumental in designing the online website so by signing up, you’re supporting an entire vegan operation!

I encourage everyone to check out the online program. Want it for yourself? Do it! Want to challenge a loved one (or not so loved one) to a 30 days of veganism? Sign them up! Already completed the challenge? Comment and tell me what you thought!

2 thoughts on “Vegan Resource Review: The 30 Day Vegan Challenge

  1. I agree! This is a great program and I really looked forward to receiving the videos and podcasts in my email each day. Listening to the podcasts on the way to work was a great way to start the day. Colleen has a wonderful way of imparting information, including tips for the social aspects of being vegan.

    At $20, it’s a steal. And you get access to the information for life via login to The 30 Day Vegan Challenge website, which now also has a community component. Thanks for the review and for helping to spread the word about this program. Even if you don’t stay vegan after the challenge is over, it will educate you about how to incorporate a more plant based diet into your life. Highly recommended.

  2. This is a really helpful post. I just started reading your blog (searching for vegan cream cheese comparisons) and I absolutely love it! Very entertaining and informative. I read your first post as well about why you decided to take the plunge and become vegan and I can definitely relate. I was a vegetarian throughout high school and some of college, but began eating meat when I met my boyfriend. 3 years later, I’ve gained 50 pounds! There were several reasons why I was a vegetarian and when I met the boyfriend, I came up with all of these excuses. He’s gained probably 10 pounds, and he hates it. Not only is it a health issue for me, but I am a huge animal lover and I feel so horrible and guilty everytime I eat meat. I’m so happy to say that he SUGGESTED we become vegan and I am SO ready! Cutting out meat will be the easy part for me as I don’t even eat it too often in the first place and I don’t feel good doing so. The dairy will be difficult for me, but your blog is VERY encouraging. I’m not setting a date for myself, I’m just starting right now. I’ll keep checking back, your blog is awesome!

Leave a Reply

